Dictionary, Census of Population, 2021
Figure 2.4J
Germanic languages

Release date: August 17, 2022

Description for Figure 2.4J

Figure 2.4J provides an overview of the Germanic languages component. The Germanic languages component is broken down into six major branches which include: Frisian languages, High German languages, Low Saxon-Low Franconian languages, Scandinavian languages, Scots and Germanic languages not included elsewhere. Scots and Germanic languages not included elsewhere are not broken down further.

By contrast, Frisian languages include: Frisian and Saterfriesisch.

High German languages include: German, Hutterisch, Luxemburgish, Pennsylvania German, Swabian, Swiss German, Tyrolian not otherwise specified and Yiddish.

Low Saxon-Low Franconian languages include: Afrikaans, Dutch, Low German not otherwise specified, Low Saxon, Plautdietsch and Vlaams (Flemish).

Scandinavian languages include: Danish, Icelandic, Norwegian and Swedish.

Source: Statistics Canada, Census of Population, 2021.

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified: