Dictionary, Census of Population, 2021
Figure 2.4B
Afro-Asiatic languages

Release date: August 17, 2022

Description for Figure 2.4B

Figure 2.4B provides an overview of the Afro‑Asiatic languages component. The Afro‑Asiatic languages component is broken down into five major branches, including: Berber languages, Chadic languages, Coptic, Cushitic languages and Semitic languages. Coptic is not broken down further.

Berber languages include: Kabyle, Tachelhit, Tamasheq, Tamazight, Tarifit, Tumzabt and Berber languages not included elsewhere.

Chadic languages include: Hausa and Mina.

Cushitic languages include: Afar, Bilen, Oromo, Saho, Sidamo, Somali and Cushitic languages not included elsewhere.

Semitic languages include: Amharic, Arabic, Assyrian Neo‑Aramaic, Chaldean Neo‑Aramaic, Aramaic not otherwise specified, Harari, Hassaniyya, Hebrew, Maltese, Tigré, Tigrigna and Semitic languages not included elsewhere.

Source: Statistics Canada, Census of Population, 2021.

Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified: