Archived Content

Information identified as archived is provided for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It is not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards and has not been altered or updated since it was archived. Please contact us to request a format other than those available.

Geographic name changes

Statistics Canada disseminates census data based on a hierarchy of standard geographic units comprised of administrative and statistical areas. Administrative areas are defined, with a few exceptions, by federal, provincial or territorial statutes whereas statistical areas are defined by Statistics Canada (StatCan) and its stakeholders for disseminating census data and complementing the structure of administrative areas.

Due to system constraints, Statistics Canada is unable to maintain certain characters within administrative and statistical area geographic names. This results in a difference between the official names and those used in census products. Below is a list of official names and those appearing in products.


A list of official names and those appearing in products grouped by province and geographic unit (appearing as row headers).

Geographic name changes, 2011 Census
Province Geographic unit Official name Published name
Source: Statistics Canada, 2011 Census of Population.
Newfoundland and Labrador Economic regions Notre Dame–Central Bonavista Bay Notre Dame--Central Bonavista Bay
South Coast–Burin Peninsula South Coast--Burin Peninsula
West Coast–Northern Peninsula–Labrador West Coast--Northern Peninsula--Labrador
New Brunswick Economic regions Campbellton–Miramichi Campbellton--Miramichi
Edmundston–Woodstock Edmundston--Woodstock
Fredericton–Oromocto Fredericton--Oromocto
Moncton–Richibucto Moncton--Richibucto
Saint John–St. Stephen Saint John--St. Stephen
Quebec Census divisions Minganie–Le Golfe-du-Saint-Laurent Minganie--Le Golfe-du-Saint-Laurent
Sept-Rivières–Caniapiscau Sept-Rivières--Caniapiscau
Census subdivisions Cascapédia–Saint-Jules Cascapédia--Saint-Jules
Métabetchouan–Lac-à-la-Croix Métabetchouan--Lac-à-la-Croix
Port-Daniel–Gascons Port-Daniel--Gascons
Saint-Côme–Linière Saint-Côme--Linière
Saint-Faustin–Lac-Carré Saint-Faustin--Lac-Carré
Saint-Lin–Laurentides Saint-Lin--Laurentides
Economic regions Gaspésie–Îles-de-la-Madeleine Gaspésie--Îles-de-la-Madeleine
Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean Saguenay--Lac-Saint-Jean
Ontario Census metropolitan areas Kitchener–Cambridge–Waterloo Kitchener - Cambridge - Waterloo
Ottawa–Gatineau Ottawa - Gatineau
St. Catharines–Niagara St. Catharines - Niagara
Economic regions Hamilton–Niagara Peninsula Hamilton--Niagara Peninsula
Kingston–Pembroke Kingston--Pembroke
Kitchener–Waterloo–Barrie Kitchener--Waterloo--Barrie
Muskoka–Kawarthas Muskoka--Kawarthas
Stratford–Bruce Peninsula Stratford--Bruce Peninsula
Windsor–Sarnia Windsor--Sarnia
Saskatchewan Economic regions Regina–Moose Mountain Regina--Moose Mountain
Saskatoon–Biggar Saskatoon--Biggar
Swift Current–Moose Jaw Swift Current--Moose Jaw
Yorkton–Melville Yorkton--Melville
Alberta Economic regions Athabasca–Grande Prairie–Peace River Athabasca--Grande Prairie--Peace River
Banff–Jasper–Rocky Mountain House Banff--Jasper--Rocky Mountain House
Camrose–Drumheller Camrose--Drumheller
Lethbridge–Medicine Hat Lethbridge--Medicine Hat
Wood Buffalo–Cold Lake Wood Buffalo--Cold Lake
British Columbia Census metropolitan area Abbotsford–Mission Abbotsford - Mission
Economic regions Lower Mainland–Southwest Lower Mainland--Southwest
Thompson–Okanagan Thompson--Okanagan
Report a problem on this page

Is something not working? Is there information outdated? Can't find what you're looking for?

Please contact us and let us know how we can help you.

Privacy notice

Date modified: